Super Sweet Blogging Award!

20 Jul

Image

Well folks, this isn’t your run of the mill post for us, as you can tell by the beautifully decorated cupcakes that don’t quite look like they’re from Rapture, but I really do appreciate the under the sea theme! This past week Daniel and I had the honor and privilege to be recognized by a couple of pretty amazing bloggers who also do cosplay. So not only was it a most appreciated pat on the back, it was also an amazing source of encouragement. From the name of the award, you can bet that it’s all about fun and being sweet to one another and, let’s face it, we can all use a little more sweetness in our lives!

And without further ado, here are our nominators.

Gynjii – Domestic Geek Girl

Gynjii was one of the first blogs that we latched onto when we started. She’s not only a passionate cosplayer but also an incredibly passionate photographer. I love how elaborately they dress their sets and the care they take with their photo shoots, even if it’s just a quick day in the park. You can tell, just by reading how much fun they have and that passion is absolutely infectious. It means so much that she thought of us and it’s always exciting to see her name on our likes list after an update. Thank you again Gynjii!

thecreativecortex

Just like us, this lovely from London is new to the blogging scene and I’m so glad that we stumbled across each other! She’s a hairdressing student who’s into comics and conventions and you should check out her Joker. I think it’s so neat how each of us brings a different skill set and strengths to our cosplay – this is how you rarely see two cosplayers that are exactly alike. Cheers to you friend and thank you so much!

Now onto the rules of the game!

The Super Sweet Blogging Award

The rules for those nominated:

1. Thank the blogger who nominated you.

2. Answer 5 Super Sweet questions. These can be found down below.

3. Include the Super Sweet Blogging Award in your blog post.

4. Nominate a baker’s dozen (13) other deserving bloggers. – Since we’re so new to the blogging scene, we’re gonna do what we can which actually looks like seven instead of thirteen. Quality over quantity right!?

5. Notify your Super Sweet nominees on their blog.

 5 SUPER SWEET QUESTIONS

1. Cookies or Cake?

Cake. I blame it on the affinity for Hostess that I developed when I was a kid and the traditional birthday cake. Don’t get me wrong – cookies are great, but there’s just something about eating a piece of cake that makes me feel fancy and comfortable at the same time. –Sara

I’m gonna have to go with cookies. They come in oh-so many varieties and they’re easy to grab on the go, making them the ideal sweet treat. — Daniel

2. Chocolate or Vanilla?

Oh man. Vanilla. Definitely vanilla. I’ve never been a big fan of chocolate anything. (he says as he eats a brownie) — Daniel

Chocolate. I think over the last few years I’ve finally experienced the stereotypical female chocolate craving. I’ve been particularly in love with Dove dark chocolate but I’m a sucker, I repeat, a sucker for chocolate and caramel. — Sara

3. Favorite Sweet Treat?

Twizzlers. But not the normal kind – I like the ones that have sweet and sour filling. Like those couldn’t get any less healthy. Ha! — Sara

I never had much of a sweet tooth but lately I’ve really been into Sour Patch Kids and Everlasting Gobstoppers. My real weakness is my wife’s baked goods, especially the pies. Just made a peach and blueberry pie… yum. — Daniel

4. When Do You Crave Sweet Things The Most?

That mid-day push at work, when you’re stressed and just want to get out of there? That’s when I crave a sugary, syrupy soda. It’s so bad but it’s so good. — Daniel

Also at work – when it’s after lunch but there’s still hours and hours to go. I want to open up a chocolate bar and break off pieces of it as I work. Such a bad habit but it’s so comforting. — Sara

5. Sweet Nick Name?

I call Daniel Bunny. There’s a story behind it but it’s still really funny when people hear it for the first time. — Sara

I call Sara Sweetness – I guess that’s as “sweet” as it gets. — Daniel

NOMINEES FOR THIS SUPER SWEET BLOGGING AWARD

Supar Robo

With a countdown to Anime Expo 2013 breathing down their necks, this blogger and his colleague put together one amazing Gundam suit – made almost entirely of cardboard. The end result was fantastic and I even spied a picture of them on another compilation site staring down an Eva suit. Thanks to them, we really learned what was possible with cardboard and can’t wait for future projects!

Inclusionary Geek Girl

This is a blog written by a friend of mine (Sara) and it’s always filled with fun tidbits. The inclusionary refers not only to the plethora of topics she is passionate about, but also to an open door policy – no snobbery here. Perhaps most recognized from her Klingon cover of Kiss Me (check-it-out-now) which swept the you tube, but she’s just an all around passionate person who loves to share what she loves with others. Plus, she plays a mean round of Zombie Dice.

Three Smitten Kittens

Offering tutorials in casting, wigs, makeup and even cosplay props, this blog is fantastic. You know how sometimes you read tutorials and the pictures aren’t really helpful or the text just isn’t specific enough and you leave still not knowing how to make the thing you need? This is not that blog. Kageshoujo is always so happy to offer advice and her offers to answer questions in the future are so sweet. Even if questions don’t come up, it’s comforting to know that there are cosplayers and craft-folks like her who are willing to spread the knowledge.

Tanner Reviews

I was first suckered into this blog by Tanner’s review of Resident Evil Zero which is one of the lesser known chapters of the franchise but one that I really liked! His reviews are always so well written and entertaining; it’s one thing for a reviewer to tell us what they think but it’s another thing entirely to entertain us at the same time. Plus, anyone who does a retrospective of the Resident Evil series gets an A+ in my book!

Tamaki Is A Girl

As someone who took stage costuming twice (Sara) it may be hard to believe that a sewing machine scares the pants off me. Would it help to know that I flunked it once? DinocoSparrow is currently working on a cosplay from one of my new loves Ouran Highschool Host Club and she posts the most amazingly detailed pictures of her process of drafting and cutting and stitching – honestly, it makes me less afraid of the machine; maybe I can sew my pants back on? I am so excited to see how her cosplay turns out and I am so thankful for the sewing tips.

The Fabric Alchemist

As someone who enjoys doing historical research for acting roles, I was really excited when I stumbled across Meris’s most recent article and I’m so glad that I read it. Her work is amazing and so professional, I’ve really enjoyed taking a look at her work and reading her stories.

The Awkward Geeky Girl 

Geekygirl was another of the first blogs that we started reading and it was her post about ups and downs of cosplay (check-it-out-here) that really snagged us. The project that we picked to start with is very daunting and this article was so uplifting and comforting, we had to let her know. I (Sara) have had so many fun back and forth conversations with her that I just had to include her in my nominations list, even though thecreativecortex mentioned Geekygirl in her own list. You’re so cheerful and encouraging, you really hold up a candle to how cosplayers should regard and treat each other!

Again, sorry that it’s not a full baker’s dozen but these blogs are some that we truly enjoy and think other’s would enjoy as well. Thank you to all for sharing!

5 Responses to “Super Sweet Blogging Award!”

  1. kageshoujo July 21, 2013 at 12:10 AM #

    Hey you guys! Thanks for the nomination. It’s really, well, sweet! XD I’m gonna set aside time to do this and check all the other blogs you nominated too in my spare time, since they all look pretty cool! Thanks guys!

  2. gynjii July 23, 2013 at 2:06 AM #

    Awwww, you made me blush you jerks! Actually, I’m not gonna lie, your words are so sweet. I got to talk to my husband today after not hearing his voice for over a month – he graduates boot camp in just 10 more days! I am so impatient to see him again and I’m so impatient to cosplay again and and and… and it’s nice to see another beautiful couple that share the same passions. Hehe. I have been meaning to make a blog post about “The Couple That Cosplays Together Stays Together”… we ought to collaborate on that together! 😉

    • thosecrazygilberts July 30, 2013 at 8:53 PM #

      That would be awesome! Once we really get this project off the ground it might be fun!

  3. Ash July 26, 2013 at 9:32 PM #

    This is so cute! CONGRATS!!!

Leave a Reply

